Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Brand New Gigabyte Radeon 7870 dies after 11 days?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 25, 2012 4:04:21 PM

Hello, I am pretty new to the Tom's hardware community, so thanks to anyone who reads/responds. I bought a new Gigabyte AMD Radeon 7870 from newegg and after having it in for only 11 days it died... I had a Nvidia GTS 450 before so this was a pretty big upgrade. My computer is a home build that my brother gave me for christmas (will list details below) . As far as I know I meet all the required specs, has anyone heard of this happening with this card? Specifically, it will show bios screen, windows load screen, but when the windows chime happens it shows "no input" and never returns... Acts the same when starting in safe mode.

motherboard: MSI NF725GM-P43
CPU: 3.5 ghz AMD Phenom II x4 970
Graphics: Gigabyte AMD Radeon 7870
Power supply: Thermaltake TR2 600w
a c 1410 U Graphics card
July 25, 2012 10:03:41 PM

Have you tried your old card? If it works you know it is the new card and you need to RMA it. Not uncommon that hardware fails soon after being put in use, just happens.
m
l
July 26, 2012 2:40:15 AM

Thanks for the reply, the old card also died which is making me a little nervous, but I put in my OOOOOLD graphics card (GeForce GS 240) and it is running fine for now.... occasional black screen for a fraction of a second, but I feel like that has always happened. I'm sure this card is bad, I just don't know if it's bad because of the card or if something else in my set up is making them die
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

a b U Graphics card
July 26, 2012 5:05:03 AM

Hmm... I would RMA the 7870 and see how it works. If it dies too, you might have PSU issue.
a c 198 U Graphics card
July 26, 2012 7:19:37 AM

Those TR2 PSU's arent the most reliable thing in the world.

But it should be able to run a 7870 fine, maybe send it back and see whats what.
m
l
July 27, 2012 3:27:54 PM