CAD System - First Build

evc3d

Honorable
Sep 13, 2012
Hello. This is my first build. My intent is to build a really strong CAD machine (specifically Civil 3D 2013). I have come up with what I feel is a really good build, but am looking for some options before I purchase all hardware. Is there any week points? Am I overbuilding in any way? Is there any part I could substitute to save $ but keep similar performance? I wasn't really sure about a good graphics card without spending a ton of money. Also not listed here is a 10k drive for all data and non program files. I do a lot of roadway modeling that I like to view in 3D. I would also like this to be able to perform well when I start rendering and adding textures to the models for visualization. Again any input is welcome. Budget is max $3000, but the less the better. Thanks in advance.

Link to the parts I picked out from my build>>>>

http://www.evernote.com/shard/s13/sh/28ffc78c-07fa-473a-9e88-28290f453f1d/97052a48728211b39390df7e91b71f40

malbluff

Honorable
Certainly looks like pretty good build, with a couple of "observations".
Power supply is way more than you need, for "shown" build. Is there a reason, for that.
Didn't notice any case selection. If you are planning multiple drives, in sophisticated raid array, that needs to be taken into account.
My natural inclination, for workstation graphics, would be to something like Quadro 4000. You would know your needs, far better than I, so it's a question of whether you are satisfied.
I would think about your SSD. Samsung 830 or even Plextor, are better, generally, and I presume that would remain the case, with your needs.
Apart from ensuring PSU is reasonably sized, most of these points are relatively minor, if YOU are happy it meets your needs. Difficult for me to know what "level" you require.

evc3d

Honorable
Sep 13, 2012