Wonder if this set up will work

NG88

Honorable
Sep 15, 2012
:hello: , it's my first time on the forums. I came here to ask some pros about my future buys and if they will work out well together. Thanks for taking your time to read this and help me out, I don't know much about computers.

My current computer consists of..
CPU: Intel Core2 6600@2.40GHz it says 3.60GHz under it in my system info though.
RAM: Patriot 4gb 4x1 DDR2
Mobo: EVGA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard
HDD: Caviar Black 7200 64mb cache 1TB
GPU: EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 v2 SC 1GB GDDR5
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower

The computer used to belong to a friend but I bought it off him about 2 years ago. It had a GeForce 8800GT but it ended up dying. Along with the PSU it had in it. Now I have some random 500w PSU and wondering if I'll need to upgrade which I'm assuming I will have to.

Here's the stuff I plan on buying as upgrades, I do intend to keep my HDD and GPU from the last build in it seeing they are new. I also plan on using the same case.

CPU: AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz (4.3GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Quad-Core
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819106009

Mobo: ASUS M5A99X EVO AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131754

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231455

GPU: EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 v2 SC 1GB GDDR5
http://www.amazon.co.uk/EVGA-GTX-GDDR5-Graphics-Card/dp/B0079BZMGA

HDD: Caviar Black 7200 64mb cache 1TB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136533

Case: Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129021&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL091312&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL091312-_-EMC-091312-T-_-ComputerCases-_-11129021-L08D