Need a coding and gaming build under $700

micceo

Honorable
Sep 15, 2012
Hi,

I want to build a new system with the following points in mind.

Temperament : I am not a hard core gamer, just the occasional types. A cheap graphics card should do. Mostly I want the PC to work with writing codes, running databases and stuff. This is my first build ever, and I dont know from where to obtain parts. So a link to the product on some site which sells it cheap is appreciated. I have a laptop which houses an i5 2nd gen processor so I want a faster experience ( the desktop experience )

Budget : $700 , the lesser is better. $700 after rebates and shipping.

OS : I am a student and have access to free operating systems from Microsoft, alternately I will be using Ubuntu

Monitor : No monitor needed ( I have one with 1920 * 1080p resolution )

Keyboard & Mouse : Already have

Parts not needed : dvd-rom drive ( i think its days are over, i usually do stuff with a flash drive )

Parts needed : I would love to have a solid state drive, a faster ram, some neon lighting to make it look cool , a wireless card.

CPU blues : I am not an intel/amd fan, anything that is good value for money is good, as long as it runs fine and does not hassle me. Confused between high end i5 and low end i7 . ( would love an i7 though )

Overclocking : No.

Finally, i dont rate my self very highly on hardware skills, do i need a cooling system in place ? I was thinking of maybe an i7 , with 8 gb of high speed ram , cheap graphics card , 120 gb solid state drive ( 250 if affordable ) and 1 TB of 7200 rpm drive. Is this possible in my budget?

Date of purchase : within this week

Thanks a lot to all of you for help
I dont have the knowledge myself, so please do help me out on this one.

broodfusion

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012

i7 3770k will cost $320ish,
ssd + hdd will cost together about $200ish, could be a bit less around $180,