Pc black screen and freeze

Status
Not open for further replies.

metro cop

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012
Hello eveyone,
Today i was playing team fortress 2 for a little over an hour when my pc just suddenly froze and the screen turned black, the sound was also making a buzzing noise. I tried alt tabbing and ctrl alt del to no avail. So i went and pressed the restart button which didn't work so i went and held the power button until it turned off and turned it back on again, it booted up and gave me the option to start windows in safe mode and all and i selected boot normally, and it booted up fine, i started playing games again for half an hour and nothing happened. Can someone help me with my computer? I'm planning on running a GPU stress test tommorrow, but if i get some extra help now i'd be very useful. This has never happened before. My specs are:

Psu: Antec VP550P 550W Power Supply
Ram: G.Skill Ares F3-1600C9D-8GAO 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
Cpu: Intel Core i5 3550
Gpu: Gigabyte Radeon HD7850 2GB OC
Hdd: Seagate Barracuda 500GB ST500DM002
Mobos: ASRock B75M Motherboard

I built it myself so the problem might be static damage which i hope isn't. Also if you stress test your gpu and fry it is it still covered by warranty? Thanks for the help.

Edit: oh yeah, my OS is windows 7 professional and i built my pc a few weeks ago.

Solution
You R lucky to even run any game.Mine can't even run some exe. files!
Froze on Notepad,Firefox,Internet Explorer.Opening ATI CCC does the same!
When i delete Catalyst drivers and run onboard graphics,its not freezing.
My cpu is i5 2500 3.3ghz,gpu VFX radeon hd6850,8GB 1333 mhz ram,550w psu!
I think my gpu is busted after very little use in its 3 months lifetime,since its freezing on Burn In test for gpu and Furmark

metro cop

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012

It is 3 weeks old, and do you mean my gpu is overheating?

hyperbertha

Honorable
Jun 23, 2012
This problem has been reported by LOTS of people with modern rigs.