Why is it booting off Slave?

Amonte

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2001
I have my main (primary master) drive that loads up Win2000. Then I put in my other drive (primary slave)that has Win98, well not really, it was formatted by maxblaster and has a few win98 files in it so when it boots it flashes up then goes to C:

Anyway, bios reads the drives correctly as master and slave, but it tries to boot up off the slave drive. It somehow makes the slave drive C: and the master as D: after the weird boot. Why?

Do I have to put the master drive on the inner connector of the IDE cable? That's the only explanation I can think of, since bios recognized ok, but after loading they are reversed. hmmm

Thnx peoples!

:tongue: <font color=red>"Never pick a fight with an ugly person .. they have nothing to lose" </font color=red> :tongue:

jc14all

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2001
It could be that the partition on the HDD formatted by maxblaster is not set to active, or your cable configuration is incorrect, or the jumpers (master/slave) on your HDD's are incorrect.

JC-------<*){{{>{~~~~~
Fisher of men

Amonte

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2001
Well the second drive can boot up fine by itself, it goes into prompt because I didn't install windows on it yet.
The slave drive is set right now as cable select, but it was on slave I believe as well and had the same results.

Does the position on the IDE cable matter? (I'd rather not pull out the HD's and everything else just to find out)

:tongue: <font color=red>"Never pick a fight with an ugly person .. they have nothing to lose" </font color=red> :tongue:

jc14all

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2001
Your Master boot HDD should be the first connection from the M/B, and the slave should be at the end of the ribbon cable.

JC-------<*){{{>{~~~~~
Fisher of men

Lars_Coleman

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001