Upgrading GPU(GT 220)

JBB-SaDo

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2012
Okay first of I am sorry if I am posting this in the wrong spot. I have never used any online forums before.

I have had the computer for 3 years now I think.
I thought I was getting a great computer when I bought this....turns out I knew nothing. :p

Here is my system specs
I am using PC wizard to get these specs
System Manufacturer: Dell
Model: Studio XPS 8100
Motherboard: Unspecified(Intel H57 chipset)
CPU: i5 650 @ 3.20(duo core)
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB
RAM: 8gb (4x2gb) Manufacturer Nanya
HD: WD 1TB
PSU: 300watt

last week my GT 220's Fan started going crazy and spinning fast really laud, especally when gaming(Skyrim, COD Games, Medieval total war2) I took it out cleaned it. did not help.
During normal, everyday stuff the heat level sits at around 50c sometimes hits low 70c. during gaming it is low 70c-high 80c

I am looking for advice for what GPU to get.

I have been looking at AMD HD 6570 1gb or maybe the Geforce 420 1gb.

Also I want to be able to run Skyrim at Mid-high settings and get 30+ FPS like with my GT220 (I have read that 220's are not supposed to be able to do that. but mine did for some reason.:D)

Solution
Now that you've told me your details, I understand that you need a single slot solution. Since single slot GDDR5 cards are out of your budget, the XFX one will have to do. It's around 15% performance, GDDR5 vs DDR3.
HD 6570 is much better card than GT 420. It's much better than GT 220 as well. It's good buy if you have only $50 to spend.

P. S. About GT 220 doing skyrim at medium - high settings: I suppose you're not running standard 1920x1080 resolution, are you? :p

JBB-SaDo

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2012

Yeah I just found some on Newegg.com

Next question is which brand: Sapphire, Asus, Gigabyte, MSi...?

and then DDR3 vs DDR5 versions of the the card? is it worth the extra $20?