Sign in with
Your question

Do I have a big enough power supply?

Last response: in Components
February 2, 2013 9:24:12 PM

Hello! I am a first time builder and I just bought some stuff, which included the Thermaltake V2, that says it has a 450W power supply, but after further research, i found out that companies can optimize thier wattage output.
Then i got a Radeon hd 6770 for gaming on high res, which says it needs about 450W by itself.
Now when i turn it on, the fans work, (power supply, led fan, graphics card) everything lights up, but the monitor stays black. Now i've already spent more money than i wanted to on this thing. My friend, who has done this before said max: $400, but after a wireless keyboard, mouse, windows 8, and a new video card, but im almost doubling that, so i REALLy dont wanna buy a new power supply, but if i have to, than its fine

More about : big power supply

a c 87 ) Power supply
February 2, 2013 9:40:19 PM

Check for PCI connectors on that power supply. The graphics card that you have needs PCI power input.
m
l
a c 282 ) Power supply
February 2, 2013 10:02:41 PM

thisisaperson1 said:
Hello! I am a first time builder and I just bought some stuff, which included the Thermaltake V2, that says it has a 450W power supply, but after further research, i found out that companies can optimize thier wattage output.
Then i got a Radeon hd 6770 for gaming on high res, which says it needs about 450W by itself.
Now when i turn it on, the fans work, (power supply, led fan, graphics card) everything lights up, but the monitor stays black. Now i've already spent more money than i wanted to on this thing. My friend, who has done this before said max: $400, but after a wireless keyboard, mouse, windows 8, and a new video card, but im almost doubling that, so i REALLy dont wanna buy a new power supply, but if i have to, than its fine

Hi - the good news is 450w psu is all that's required to run
a system with one 6770. The other news is, you need to find