Sign in with
Your question

New Ge Force 8400GS 1gb Graphics Card Fitted;- keeps attempting to reboot before

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 31, 2012 8:44:12 AM

Hello,
Im a bit of a newbie at this sort of thing so please bare with me... ;) 

I have recently purchased a Palit Geforce 8400 gs for my Advent Tower PC as i want to run a dual screen setup for easier music production. I was told it was easy so gave it a go. The old graphics card is built into the motherboard and is mounted vertically.

Before installing the new card into the PCI-E Slot, I went into the first load up bios menu screen (by pressing ESC or DEL on mine, cant remember now) where it gives you the options of the Chipset bios, etc, and changed the 'boot from' setting in the vga options (if i remember rightly) to PCI-E slot (x16), saved and exited the menu.

I then powered down the PC, installed the new graphics card and plugged a screen into the vga slot of the new card.

On booting up it seems normal but when it gets to the screen which reads 'verifying DMI pool Data', the screen cuts out and the pc starts rebooting again from the beginning...it will continue to do this repeatedly until i turn it off.

Ive tried installing a new driver for it in windows without the new card in the PCI-E slot but it wouldnt let me. I have taken the card out and reverted back to the original ('Intel(R) G33/31 express chipset family Card' if thats the one) but would really like to get this working if possible!!!

Ive read about Underpowered PSUs is it? but have no idea where id find the information on this and havn't really got much of an idea of what to do next...

Appreciate any help at all, Ive tried to be as thorough with explaining as i can but let me know if theres anything i have missed out.

LUKE

My
a b U Graphics card
July 31, 2012 4:14:56 PM

What are the rest of your specs. Honestly, the 8400GS consumes only a small amount of power. But I'd like to know of your PSU first.