Sapphire Radeon HD 6450 with 2GB DDR3, is it good?

Anonymatrix

Honorable
Jul 31, 2012
Im about to buy a CPU with an Intel Core i5 3.1Ghz
8gb of Ram
2 TB of HDD (yeah I think its too much eh)

And the screen resolution is:
1280x1024 LCD, with VGA Output

But the graphics card still bugs me, Im into gaming, and I'm planning to buy a gaming CPU, it doesnt have a graphic card, so I get to buy a separate one.
I saw the Sapphire Radeon HD 6450 with 2GB DDR3, can I use it to play the latest games? at least on medium or low to get a good framerate, if not, then what card should I get? I cant spend a lot of money though, the one im seeing costs 84$.

Im a novice at this stuff, thanks by the way.

danawesome89

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2011
First, you should tell us what resolution your monitor is, because that makes a HUGE difference. It would also be helpful to know your power supply, but at your extremely low budget, power probably won't be a huge issue.

My first thought is that the 6450 is a bad deal at $84 and is a very weak card.
At that price I would recommend this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102958

Although I would highly recommend trying to at least get this for $99:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102969

If you are willing to increase your budget even farther, you can start to get MUCH better cards.

This is a good article to start getting an idea for what cards are good in certain price ranges:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-graphics-card-review,3107.html

Anonymatrix

Honorable
Jul 31, 2012

It's 1280x1024.

The problem here, the prices increase due to exports and imports, in the country where I live, things get pretty expensive :/

Well, im getting a new one aswell, so I don't think that will be a problem.

Thank you, I'll look into it.

danawesome89

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2011