Is it really worth an intel upgrade if i already have a 990fx

carrotbro

Honorable
Feb 3, 2013
First I would like to start off by saying hello. :) This is my first time posting here so if it appears like i dont know what im doing...i dont. lol

my current system is:

mobo: gigabyte 990fx ud3

cpu: amd fx 6100

cpu cooler: h80 with 120mm cougars in push pull

ram: gskill sniper ddr3 1866 but board reads it as 1600

gpu: gigabyte 6850 hd

psu: ocz 750 watts

case: coolermaster elite 430 (full of fans) cm mach 1.8, gelid, skinny scythe, generic blue led...all are 120mm

hds: 500 gig caviar blue (data) velociraptor 74 gig (os)

display: asus 23" 1080p and hp 2009m

My gaming experience has been very lackluster as of late due to performance sadness. lol I do most of my pc upgrades during tax time. Last year i did a pretty big

upgrade including motherboard and cpu. What I really want to know is if i should do a complete over haul already and build an intel system. Money isnt a total issue but i

suppose is at the same time. I kind of want a 2560x1440 monitor and the gtx 690 seems pretty awesome ad i have mixed feelings on running multiple gpus. More of a

lack of faith in my abilities.

All comments and any help are welcome. I want to order in a couple days and have been straining my brain for many

jthill909

Honorable
Nov 6, 2012
You could save some money and go with an 8350. It's neck and neck with the 3570k in gaming and just about the same as some the higher end Intel's with high-threaded applications. Then you can overclock it and it'll be even better.

Also, I'd wait for the "Titan" from Nvidia instead of getting a 690. It's suppose to come out this month and have more performance than a 690 while being a single gpu card! That's crazy.

ohyouknow

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2011