Sign in with
Your question

Enhance GPU cooler with a casefan?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 1, 2012 7:21:02 PM

Hello,

I pointed a regular 85mm casefan directly at my 9800gtx+ omnidirectional fan. Smack bam on top of it. Does that seem like a good idea to you guys?

Thanks in advance,

Me.
August 1, 2012 8:00:05 PM

did it improve temps?

all that matters
August 1, 2012 8:00:38 PM

No, it probably won't help, and may actually reduce it's performance if it's not pushing as much air as the GPU fan (which it likely is not, those things are usually pretty powerful), because air must be sucked through the slow fan before it can get to the GPU, it's going to be an obstruction.

Even if it is pushing more air, I would expect it to cause abnormal pressure patterns on the GPU fan that may slow it down, since they will be spinning at different rates.

I'm no aeronautical engineer, but think about what happens to an aircraft when it encounters jet-wash or turbulence.
Related resources
August 1, 2012 8:04:25 PM

Well kind of late to ask now, innit? :D  Anyway, it will probably make the airflow stronger, thus increasing the cooling power. I think the best way is to put an intake on your case that is perpendicular to the card. That way it can deliver colder air for the GPU fan while the hot air gets exhausted from the back of the GPU. But either way should work just fine.
August 1, 2012 8:09:59 PM

Thanks for the replies guys, by the way, I forgot to mention that I just attached it with some tie-wraps so it's nothing permanent ;) 

Anyway, thanks for the help, it's appriciated!
August 1, 2012 8:21:28 PM

I am curious to know if it improved your temps or not :) 
August 1, 2012 8:28:50 PM

It's really hard to tell right now because of the changing weather, it varies from about 20c to 25c and that can really make all the difference.

I'll let you know when I am certain, however I suspect it may be decreasing performance.