New build not posting, only beeps without ram

plopyer10

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
So I'm new to this, so hopefully I'm posting this in the right place. This is my first build and so far it's not going great. I got everything put together, made sure my standoffs were installed(turns out I have prebuilts standoffs in my case) with only 3 actual standoffs. I ended up only using the prebuilt ones because I had no idea where to put the other ones because my case didn't come with instructions. So I had everything installed, motherboard in the case, my 1 fan plugged into the motherboard(don't think it had a place to connect on the power supply, it was only a 3 pin connector) and I triple checked to make sure all things were plugged in right. My 8 pin connector from the psu was connected right, 24 pin connected, case speaker connected, case power switch and lights all in the right spot. So I turn on power supply and hit the power button. CPU fan and case fan are running, psu fan is running, led lights on but I get no post and no display. I ram through EVERYTHING on the no post no display guide and I double checked everything. Everything's plugged in fine and I try turning it on again. Same thing. So I decided to try the breadboard so I take mobo out an put it on my box. So now I only have psu, CPU and heatsink, no ram. I turn it on with the screwdriver method and I get three long beeps. So I plug in one stick of ram, nothing. Change that ram to al different sslots, nothing. Do the same thing with other stick of ram, nothing. So now I plug in graphics card for the hell of it and that fans running so idk?! Still no post beep. Only get three beeps without ram! So I tried testing my psu with the paper clip trick and it started up fine and it also powers fans and lights so hopefully it's not a psu problem? I'm thinking it's the motherboard and I sure hope it's not the cpu! I'm gonna rma the board tommorow and hopefully that's the culprit. Everything I've been reading online seems