Artifacting - Is it my VRAM? And upgrading my HD 5970.

Awefulwaffle

Honorable
Aug 2, 2012
I'm not sure if my technical question is supposed to be posted here. It's my first time using the forums. :\

A few weeks ago I had a GPU Overheating Error on my screen that forced my computer to stop, at which point I shut it down. Before it shut down I was experiencing artifacting and I figured something was wrong, but didn't realize a temperature my GPU was hitting. When I turned the computer back on, cleaned out my case, and tried again I still ended up with Artifacting on particular parts of the game.

Here's a link to a picture of the artificating I'm seeing:

http://tinypic.com/r/2ii915s/6

And here's a link to the page where I learned about artifacting:

http://www.playtool.com/pages/artifacts/artifacts.html

I've also experienced checkers on my desktop, and a colorful purple/black mess of a boarder on open folders.

Relating to bad video ram on my GPU, I've heard it could also be something wrong with the memory my GPU stores on my Mobo, making it a mobo problem. I've had this computer for 2~3 years and this problem just started after that GPU overheating crash. I'm pretty sure it's the GPU Ram and not the mobo, but can anyone confirm with me? My specs will be listed below.

Second question: I have $600~$700 to upgrade my faulty Graphics Card. Hopefully this weekend or early into next week. I use my system strictly for gaming. Everything from MMOs to Crysis, Battlefield, Metro, etc. I'd prefer to play on high~ graphics settings. I'm honestly mostly buying this new GPU for Guild Wars 2 that's coming out later this month, but I want it to be able to stand up to future games like Crysis 3 on High/Very high. Along with Battlefield 3/4, etc. :)

-----------------------------------------
GPU - Radeon HD 5970

Power Supply - Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W

Mother board - ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD