Okay choices for a sub $1000 home system?

BluesCruiser

Honorable
Sep 22, 2012
Hi,

I'm building my first system and would like to get some input if I could.

This will be a home system expected to last 5 or 6 years. Interested in light photo editing (16MP camera) and will be doing a video editing project with about 50GB worth of data to manipulate (remove 60 cycle hum, clip and splice etc.) and then future light video editing. No gaming at all but way too much time web hopping and some netflix viewing.

I'm a computer programmer (eclipse/java) using a Dell Optiplex 740 at work (AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core, DDR2, 4GB) so I'm hoping this system will blow it away performance wise.

These are the parts I already have from my older system:

Monitor: Asus VH238H 23" LED Monitor with HDMI
Graphics card: EVGA 512-P3-1301-KR GeForce 8400 GS 512MB 32-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card
HDD (Storage Device): WD Caviar Blue (SE16) 640GB WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 SATA 3 Gbps

And these are the parts I'm planning to purchase:

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570 (not 3570k) Quad-Core Processor - BX80637I53570, Amazon: 215
Mobo: Intel BOXDH77EB H77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Motherboard. Amazon: $100
Memory: Crucial Technology CT2KIT51264BA160B 8GB (4GBX2) DDR3 PC3-12800, Amazon: $42
Case: Antec Sonata Series SOLO II w Front USB3 ports, Newegg: $120
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129177
Power: Rosewill CAPSTONE Series CAPSTONE-450 450W, 80 PLUS GOLD Certified, Newegg: $69
Single +12V Rail, ATX12V v2.31 EPS12V v2.92, SLI Ready, CrossFire Ready, Active - PFC Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182066&Tpk=N82E16817182066
Boot Drive: Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive, Newegg: $110
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148442