Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Under $2000 build

Last response: in Systems
September 23, 2012 6:18:04 AM

I'm building a new pc. Initially I was going to get a pre built one from cyberpowerpc, but then I heard all those negative comments about them. figured it was pretty much a hit or miss with them. So now i've decided to build my own. I'm a complete noob when it comes to building one. so i can really use the help. as in the topic my budget it $2000. these are some of the parts that i've already chosen. let me know what you think of them. and if you could direct me towards a step by step guide to build this, that'd be great. Thanks

Approximate Purchase Date: Sometime next month

Budget Range: under $2000. btw what is after rebates?(complete noob, i know)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Movies, Surfing the net etc. gaming mostly though.

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon or any other *trusted* international shipping place. I don't live in the us.

Parts Preferences: I would like to use an Intel CPU & Asus(where can i find a hierarchy for mobos?) mobo with a Mid tower case.

Overclocking: No/Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: In the future maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200

Parts I've already chosen:

CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D Mid Tower
Cooling: Corsair Hydro 100
Motherboard: Asus P9X79(dunno if i should get a pro or deluxe or le or something else)(also if u have other suggestions that'd be great)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB(4GBx4) DDR3/1600 MHz
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 (should I get 2gb or 4gb? also EVGA is the best one right?)
Power Supply: 700 watts(any major brand recommendation?)
Hard Drive: 120GB for main and 1 tb for data.(any major brad recommendation for this?)
Optical drive: Internal Blu-ray Drive & DVDRW, 3D playback combo drive. I'm thinking about LG.