Singapore Gaming Rig Low OC Future Proofed High Quality/Value

tyrellian

Honorable
Sep 23, 2012
Hi guys - I'm getting back in to PC gaming in a big way now that I have the space for it but am coming as a total n00b (this will be my first build).

I have done a ton of reading to try and wrap my head around the new tech and the forums have been invaluable for that - so big thanks already for the help! :na:

I have a few requests as you critique my current build and offer me alternatives (thanks again and sorry for the question-dump!).

1. Easy to put together (as it's my first build!)

2. I'm also looking to probably not have to overclock this rig at all; but if the functionality is there I might tinker (particularly if it is automated so I don't accidentally set it on fire!).

3. I'm looking for value/future proofing and don't mind spending now to ensure that I'm saving in the long run. Hate how I used to keep buying new pre-built systems every 3-4 years!

4. I have an old Apple Cinema Display 24" (the old one with the fixed output in the back for the Mini Display Port). It's working fine and since it cost a bundle (and I still use it when I'm plugging in my PowerBook) it would be great if I could avoid having to buy a new display - my understanding is that with the DisplayPort in my system I should be able to get an adaptor to MiniDisplay in order to make it work; but if you guys think that's a bad idea and I should go for another monitor I will go for it - definitely don't want to compromise the rig.

5. My cable outlet is currently in another room and so I will probably need to wirelessly connect. I can either do this with an old AirportExpress that I have (plug it in and connect it to the network that way) but since I'm not sure that will protect my bandwith I'd love to know if there are better alternatives and how close they come to actually wired options.