jrgray93

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
I've seen similar threads but nothing I found seemed to have helped.

I bought a new graphics card yesterday and everything seems to be working well, aside from one issue. My display looks perfectly fine while I'm on Windows Explorer or Firefox, but after playing more demanding games for a few minutes, the screen becomes "shaky." I'm primarily noticing the issue while playing StarCraft 2, but it has popped up on other games as well. The screen slowly transitions back to normal after I exit a game or alt-tab out of it.

The best way I can describe this shaking is that it seems like the pixels are jittering left-to-right and back again really fast, but not in a uniform manner. Each horizontal row seems to shake independent of one above and below it. It is like miniature screen tearing but with every single row of pixels doing it.

Now, the best I can tell is that my monitor is the issue. I have an old monitor; I've been using it for six years. Until I installed this new graphics card, everything worked fine. Games ran slow, even on low settings, but it worked as it should have. Now, with this new card in, the monitor is having this issue. I would immediately assume the card was to blame, but thanks to my friend's new computer parts waiting around my house, I was able to test out another monitor, which worked just fine.

Assuming my monitor is the problem, I really can't afford to upgrade right now because I'm kind of afraid of budget monitors, for a reason I will get to in a second. My current monitor is old but has lasted me for six years of heavy use and the display, while small, looks perfectly balanced. The colors look great and the brightness is ideal. Here is a link to the monitor I am using:

http://reviews.cnet.com/lcd-monitors/emachines-e17t4w-lcd-monitor/4505-3174_7-32477579.html