Suggestions and Help with New Build for Higher End Gaming PC

ghost101

Honorable
Sep 25, 2012
Hello, I am interested in building my first PC. I have had laptops and desktops for gaming over the years, alienware, ASUS, etc. I am wanting to build my very own, not just to save a huge hunk of cash (though that is a factor) but for the experience and knowledge. I am a novice with this, and plan to study tutorials and take it slow. I went to CyberpowerPC and built a desktop I wanted, the reason was to get the parts! lol So based on the desktop config I made on Cyberpower I came up with this build (yes, pretty pricy)

Case - Thermaltake Commander Mid-Tower Gaming Case

Fans - Maximum 120MM Case Cooling Fans

Noise Reduction - Anti-Vibration Fan Mounts

CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.60 GHz Eight-Core AM3+ CPU 8MB L2 Cache & Turbo Core Technology

Graphics Card - AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card

Cooling Fan - Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan (Enhanced Cooling Performance + Extreme Silent at 20dBA)

Motherboard - CrossFireX/SLI] GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AMD 990FX Socket AM3+ ATX Mainboard w/ Ultra Durable™ 3, Dual Bios, On/Off USB Charge & 7.1 HD Audio, GbLAN, USB 3.0, SATA-III RAID, 4 Gen2 PCIe X16, 2 PCIe X1 & 1 PCI

Power Supply - 1,000 Watts - Cooler Master Silent Pro Gaming 80 Plus Power Supply

RAM - 16GB (8GBx2) DDR3/1600MHz Dual Channel Memory

Hard Drive - 1TB SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 32MB Cache 7200RPM HDD

Optical Drive - 24X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive

Operating System - Window 8 (release end of October)

WiFi - 802.11b/g/n 300 Mbps Wireless Card + External 2.4G 5 Dbi Omni-Directional Wireless Antenna

What I am wanting to know is what do you guys think of the build? Did I forget anything? Is this a respectable build for high end PC gaming? Any suggestions?

-Please be easy on me, this is my first time doing this...

lol build it yourself. you get to save money and not get scammed

performs better in almost everything