Sign in with
Your question

HOMEBuild need expert advice!

Last response: in Systems
September 25, 2012 3:58:06 PM

hey sorry for this very generic post..
I am new to Home-builds and need the help
Here are my suggested components (i am looking to overclock once i learn more about it) and i would like to go for a second
g-card down the line

cpu i7 3770k (
mobo Maximus v formula (i like the on board audio but i am still open to suggestion)
SSD 128GB OCZ Vertex 4
HDD 3000GB Seagate Barracuda 7200
BR LG Electronics Blu-ray Super Multi LG BH10LS38 Lightscribe
G-card (MSI N670GTX-PE2GD5/OC) One for now and will definatly sli later ( taken into acout for the power supply)
Ram 16 G 1600 (any suggestions) ?
PSU ? ( value for money)
Cpu cooler for OC ?? ( suggestions value for money)

Cases : so far ive gotten a little stuck, initially the mobo seem to be too big however its not a full Eatx and has the following dimensions 12 inch x 10.1 inch ( 30.5 cm x 25.7 cm ) so some people said it can fit in some atx case but im not sure which ones?

Basically i am not fussed when in comes to aesthetics of the system so i dont give crap about matching colours however my goals are to have SLI (in the near future, to learn to overclock cpu and so on, windows 8 ready and good audio.. I am not stuborn and would like suggestion on any system change. if you dont think its worth it let me know. ohh and anything that makes oc safer or easier let me know

thanking you in advance

S.K

September 25, 2012 3:59:17 PM

ohh and saving a buck or two where i can would be great obviously without to much quality compromising
Related resources
September 25, 2012 4:40:03 PM

Hi. I made you a build which is basicly an upgrade from TheBigTroll's second build.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3820 3.6GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Water 2.0 Performer 81.3 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($47.99 @ Newegg)