Honorable
Feb 7, 2013
This is my first build. So far I have:

Asus M599FX PRO R2.0
AMD FX-8350 4.0gHz
G Skill Ares 1866mHz 16GB (2x8GB)
MSI GeForce GTX 460 Twin Frozr II

Just need a PSU now.

Is this calculator is a reliable measure?
http://extreme.outervision.com/
It said minimum 526W and recommended 576W.

But I have been told to get a PSU anywhere from 550W to 750W from other sources. I will be buying a reputable brand, not a no-name, probably a Corsair, or a Seasonic. Just need some advice on wattage. I want to run SLI and possibly overclock in the future.

I'm in Canada. Looking to shop local so I can build this weekend. Just need advice on wattage, and maybe a bit of explanation too, since I've had such differing answers so far.

Found a great deal on a Corsair GS600. Think this would work? Reviews of this model?

Solution
For a system using two GeForce GTX 460 graphics cards in 2-way SLI mode NVIDIA specifies a minimum of a 650 Watt or greater system power supply that has a maximum combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 37 Amps or greater and that has at least four 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

Total Power Supply Wattage is NOT the crucial factor in power supply selection!!! Total Combined Continuous Power/Current Available on the +12V Rail(s) rated at 45°C - 50°C ambient temperature, is the most important factor.

Overclocking of the CPU and/or GPU(s) will require an additional increase to the maximum combined +12 Volt continuous current ratings, recommended above, to meet the increase...
A calculator is only as good as the data you put into it, much of it unknowable.
What factor for capacitor ageing?
Quality of psu?
Your need for growth?
A good old fashioned rule of thumb is sufficient.
It is not wrong to overprovision a bit since a psu will consume only the wattage that is demanded of it.
Here is a handy chart that does the job:
http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page362.htm