Discussion/Advice on New Build

Blake1221

Honorable
Sep 25, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: All parts ordered by October 12, 2012 (within the next week or two)

Budget Range: Between $1200 - $1500

System Usage: Gaming, Internet browsing, Java & C++ basic programming, possibly upper level programs

Are you buying a monitor: Yes

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: New Egg, NCIX, etc

Overclocking: Maybe

Current Build----

url= http://pcpartpicker.com/p/iw5I

*** I will also have my own optical drive, mouse, and keyboard.

Additional Comments: I want a solid and reliable PC. This is my first build so I want to enjoy this PC for a few years before upgrading anything. I am seeking people who know much more than I do about PC's and building PC's to give me advice on the parts I have selected as to whether or not they will satisfy my needs.

Thanks for your thoughts and opinions!

master_chen

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012

Just get all of this, and you're pretty much good to go for at least 2 years without changing any hardware at all. It's a very solid build.
And even a couple of years later (when you'll feel like upgrading something), all you'll really need is either to add more Memory, change PSU for a bigger wattage capacity one (if planning to use second GPU, but it is highly unlikely that you'll really need more powerful PSU even for two of those cards), or add another HDD, leaving everything else pretty much untouched.

malbluff

Honorable