Sign in with
Your question

First Gaming Computer Build! Suggestions?

Last response: in Systems
September 26, 2012 9:16:31 PM

Hello all,

This is my first computer build I have ever done. I have assembled some different components and wanted to check the compatability and get some opinions on the build itself. I am completely open to suggestions as well. But before I give the parts list itself, here is the general outline that Tom's Hardware suggests to have.

Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next few weeks

Budget Range: $700-$800

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming primarily, some basic editing programs, possibly CAD programs as well

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: None as this is my first build.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, but I am not including that in this price range

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I would prefer if it is kept to Newegg or Fry's. Seeing as I enjoy picking up parts in person if the price is the same anyways.

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: I am trying to build an Intel computer for my first build.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: Not at the moment. Possibly in future upgrades.

Your Monitor Resolution: I plan on running the tower to my HDTV. It currently supports up to 1080p

Additional Comments: I would like the motherboard to not be micro. I know micro brings the price down a bit, but I am willing to put in a little more money for the full size board. I am also firmly set with the tower. It is the only piece I have been 100% sure that I want.

So here is the current component list I have assembled.

Tower: Cooler Master HAF 912

HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB

Video Card: XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870

PSU: Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-730SS

Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB

CPU: Intel i5-3450 Ivy Bridge

Motherboard: ASUS P8B75-V LGA 1155

Any opinions/suggestions/criticisms are greatly appreciated!
September 26, 2012 9:25:54 PM