Thing_of_Things

Honorable
Sep 27, 2012
Hi,
I am a first time prospective PC builder and was hoping to buy my parts all at once, but some are on sale now and I am thinking I might want to buy the CPU, mobo, and case at the very least now because they are not likely to get any cheaper in the time I plan to do this. I have never built before, but I have modified an old desktop I had in college some years ago (my last) and am a grad student in science, so I figure this shouldn’t be too awfully hard for me. I’ve done a fair amount of research on this but I figure I could use a few people who know what they are doing looking over my plan before I pull the trigger. I can’t buy all the parts now (I am counting on a paycheck on the 1st and a bit of birthday money on the 5th), but… maybe I shouldn’t miss the current newegg 72 hour deals…
Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: Next couple of weeks
Budget Range: ~1500
System Usage from Most to Least Important: games, photo editing, possibly ArcMap10
Are you buying a monitor: Yes

Parts to Upgrade: My intended configuration:
I7-3770k (on sale at Newegg for 309.99)
^Yes, I know all about the i5. I’ve agonized over it and… now the i7 is on sale
CoolerMaster Storm Enforcer (On sale I THINK for 76.50 at newegg (89.99-15%))
^Chosen primarily for its removable HD cage (to accommodate video card) and apparent good build quality/value. USB3 is nice, too.
ASRock z77 Extreme6 + 8GB 1600 RAM on newegg now for 189.99
^I think the current deal makes this preferable over the slightly less featured Extreme4
Samsung 24x optical drive for 17.99
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 for 399.99
RAIDMAX Blackstone RX-700AC (700W, 80+ certified), 64.99
CoolerMaster Megaflow 200 21.99
^for top of case
Antec Kuhler H2O 620 59.99
^chosen over CoolerMaster air based fan so as not to create RAM clearance issues in the future
128GB OCZ Vertex 4 99.99
^I have 3tb of external mass storage already
Acer 23” monitor 1080p, 139.99
Gigabyte Force K3, 27.99
ROCCAT Kova+, 49.99