Get Windows 8 Pro. Yes or no. Explain please

Total: 87 votes (19 blank votes)

• Yes
  • 59 %
  • No
  • 42 %
January 29, 2013 8:37:35 PM

Hello members,

I'm a student at my local junior college where I'm studying computer information technology & systems. I have the option to get windows 8 pro from my school for free. The question is should I get it. I've heard a lot of things about windows 8 most of which is negative. But this is another thread asking those of whom that have used it whether they like it or not. Please don't just say it sucks with no reasons behind it. And if this is a duplicate thread I'm sorry for that in advance.

My other question is a 120gb SSD enough to put windows 8 pro and windows 7 pro 64 bit in a dual boot configuration with some space left on it?

System:
i5 3570k 3.9ghz
Corsair 16gb 1600mhz ram
Intel 520 120gb SSD
1TB HDD.
Corsair hx750w
2xHD6870 Xfire
Corsair 600t

More about : win pro yay nay

January 29, 2013 8:41:55 PM

It performs better than Windows 7 in general. No reason not to get it if it's there.
January 29, 2013 8:45:03 PM

Go for it. It's free(for you), runs slightly faster, integrates with your uEFI for faster boots, and does everything Windows 7 can do. And the new task manager is nice.
Related resources
January 29, 2013 9:36:14 PM

What about my SSD is it going to be enough to fit them both? 120gb?
January 29, 2013 9:46:50 PM

Windows 7 uses about 23 GB and Windows 8 uses about 13 GB, so yes you should have enough space.
a b * Windows 8
January 29, 2013 9:49:08 PM

Yes get windows 8. It comes with full downgrade rights to vista, and windows 7 and has transfer rights to new machines. Windows 8 runs better than windows 7 anyway. if you hate it, you can downgrade for free.
January 29, 2013 9:52:56 PM

On your second question: As you go over the time, updates to both Windows versions will start eating a lot of your precious storage, so you might reconsider keeping both of them over long term.
a b * Windows 8