Sign in with
Your question

Advice and info on building an HTPC

Last response: in Systems
September 27, 2012 7:16:50 PM

Hello fellow Tom's Hardware readers! I'm very interested in building an HTPC, but I've no experience in the area. I've built my own rigs for the past 10 years, but they've always been focused on gaming. I could use some advice and information on this front.

What things do I need to focus on with an HTPC build?
Are there known issues / pitfalls with building / usinf an HTPC?
Will I be able to use an HTPC in conjunction with DIRECTV?

Any other info that might be helpful in this would be appreciated.

Approximate Purchase Date: unknown, will decide based on this thread, probably

Budget Range: $1,000 US - Before Rebates; After Shipping

System Usage: HTPC, surfing the internet

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: New build, no upgrading

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg

Parts Preferences: None really, just reliable

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200, Samsung 50" HDTV

Additional Comments: A quiet HTPC would be a bonus
September 28, 2012 1:44:14 AM

Zharkov said:
What things do I need to focus on with an HTPC build?
Are there known issues / pitfalls with building / usinf an HTPC?
Will I be able to use an HTPC in conjunction with DIRECTV?

Here's my list of HTPC priorities in order:
#1 It must playback media, whatever media, without loss of quality.
#2 It must be quiet.
#3 It must stay cool (related to #2)
#4 It must be simple (to use, and hardware-wise... no water cooling loops for example)
#5 It must have high WAF
#6 It must aesthetically fit into the Home Theater. LEDs, cold cathodes, UV lights, gaming towers need not apply.

BTW, for DirecTV, you can only use an HTPC as a capture device if you use an IR blaster and a capture card like the Hauppauge Colossus. That kind of breaks rule #4 for me, but to each his own.
September 28, 2012 3:08:23 PM