Sign in with
Your question

Help a newbie out, be gentle!

Last response: in Systems
September 28, 2012 4:15:23 AM

So I'm totally new to PC building, I got things up and running smoothely enough considering it was my first time doing this. Here are my specs:

Intel i5 2500k @ 3.3GHZ
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H-B3 motherboard
16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM (4x4)
Radeon HD 7950 GIGABYTE Edition
Corsair 750W PSU
WD Blue HDD
Sony DVD R/W Drive

So, the problem. I installed Windows 7 (64 bit) and got to the screen of where to install it, tried to select the hard drive but it said that it would fail soon and couldn't install it there, however a different partition didn't say this problem (pretty odd I thought) So installed it there.

Took a long time to install but when it did Windows was pretty unstable, programs slow loading up, stopped responding frequently, alerts that the hard drive would fail soon. So I tried resetting connectors, grounding myself to avoid static shocks damaging my stuff and tried again, with a fresh install.

After a long time of trying I finally got there and things were running beautifully, fast and responsive, no problems. Installed the drivers for the motherboard, windows updated and restarted my PC for them to take effect. Now this is where the problem is ; (other than the HDD issues) the sytem gets to the "Starting Windows" screen and just hangs there and has been stuck there every time I've tried to restart. (I retried installing Windows 7 again from disk a couple of times and the same thing happened)

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm totally lost on where to go from here, I will answer any questions you need to know and if I've made any silly errors please take pity as I'm a total amateur at this kind of thing. Thanks!

More about : newbie gentle

September 28, 2012 7:15:12 PM

Bumping for some much needed help :( 
September 28, 2012 7:29:02 PM