Sign in with
Your question

Suckfest bandwith

Last response: in Networking
September 24, 2011 2:15:22 AM

Hi, I will introduce myself quickly: I am 24 from Namibia (South Africa) I am a student aswell as employd at the same company. I left school at 16 and went to work at a IT company, and thats where I 1st got to know toms hardware! :) 
I changed fields long ago though, just some history!

Where I come from we have a single ISP, it has ridiculas service.. (I am a passionate gamer)
99.9% of the players here are FPS players, I am a lonewolf in the world of RTS. (for the past 5 years)
But service is getting worse day by day..

I am a pre-primary teacher now. I get home from work at 1PM. At 8:30 PM I can start playing games.. and at 10PM I have to go sleep. (11pm if im pushing it - 20 six year olds are too much :sweat:  )

I have upgraded my internet connection aswell to try and get better service. (256 to 512 dsl) It did not work.

JUMP TO HERE IF YOU DONT CARE

From what I understand, it seems that they throttle the bandwith in Namibia. I can play games on steam, I can play local servers FPS games, but certain / most games I simply cannot play before 8:30 pm.

Pinging google will show that I have insane spikes.
This will show that I have a bad ISP: http://wiki.vuze.com/w/Bad_ISPs (Namibia)
Shaperprobe confirms they are messing with my connection aswell.

I dont know how they do it, I am a utter noob at this.

But what I want to know is, is there indeed a way to bypass this super sucky lameness?

Can I somehow encrypt something somewhere, can I join a VPN, will that help?
Is there any hope concerning my hobby?

They are throttling the bandwith from what I have read for the past couple of hours. And all I can find is tricks for your Torrents. In two hours I could not find a answer, so now I will ask. Just put me out of my misery. :hello: 

(Sorry if this is in the wrong place)

More about : suckfest bandwith

September 24, 2011 8:30:40 PM