Sign in with
Your question
Solved

[RAID]Help me choose a Raid card

Last response: in Components
February 12, 2013 9:38:40 AM

Hi all,
Im relatively new to server building and presently I'am building a server for my own use.My HW are:

Processor: Intel E5-2470 Link: http://www.intel.in/content/www/in/en/processor-compari...
Board: Intel server board S2400LP Link: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/motherboards/ser...
Hard Drive: 2x2TB WD Sata HDD @ 7200RPM

Im confused now on what RAID card I should buy.I will be setting up RAID 1 So that all data are mirrored to another HDD and this is solely for backup purpose.I will need a mid range RAID cards.Not cheap ones or too costly ones.

Also I would like to know,If I have a RAID 1 Config and one of the HDD fails,Does replacing that drive is enough and the data is again synced to the new HDD automatically?
And also If I ever need to recover data from one of the hard Disk which is good,Will it be possible?(Considering 1 HDD has failed and the other is working.).Thank you.

Regards,
Vijai

More about : raid choose raid card

February 12, 2013 11:57:16 AM

Adaptec RAID 6805 is a very good SAS/SATA raid card with battery backup.

If a HDD fails in raid-1, swapping it out will automatically cause the raid to mirror the contents of the good drive on the new drive, but with a performance hit while this is going on.

Most people wouldn't go with anything less than raid-5 for data backup, while raid-1 is fine for the o/s drives.
m
l

Best solution

February 12, 2013 1:56:53 PM