Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Just built a computer, doesnt turn on?

Last response: in Components
February 13, 2013 4:01:48 AM

Hello, today my computer parts finally came in and i was super excited to build it. It is my first build, but i have replaced motherboards before.
So i made sure that the power supply was connected to everything, the mother board(20pin and 6 or 8 pin, cant remember, ontop of the cpu fan), the dvd drive, hdd, and the cpu fan is connected to the motherboard. I connected the little wires that are from the case onto the motherboard as well, pled, reset switch, etc. WHenver i press the power button on the case, nothing happens. The Light on the motherboard is on, and i even charged my phone via the usb port. So i know the motherboard is getting power, but everything else isnt. None of the fans move, on the case, and neither does the cpu fan. I am out of troubleshooting ideas. Any help? Oh, and i did make sure the cpu was compatible beforehand, i had severeal people and the tigerdirect guys give advice on the parts. Below are my parts:
-Ultra LSP750 750-Watt Power Supply
-AMD FD8120FRGUBOX FX-8120 Processor - Eight Core, 8MB L3 Cache, 8MB L2 Cache, 3.10GHz (4.00GHz Max Turbo), Socket AM3+, 125W, Fan, Unlocked, Retail
-WD Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB Desktop Hard Drive - 3.5", SATA, 7200RPM, 16MB Cache
-Samsung SH-224BB/BEBE Internal 24X DVD Burner -Tray, SATA, 1.5MB Buffer Memory, 16x DVD-R Read, 48x CD-R Write
-ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ Motherboard - ATX, Socket AM3+, AMD 970 Chipset, AMD FX, 2133MHz DDR3 (O.C.), SATA 6.0 Gb/s, RAID, 8-CH Audio, Gigabit LAN, USB 3.0, CrossFireX Ready
-Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX 8GB Desktop Memory Kit - DDR3, (2 x 4GB), PC3-12800, 1600MHz, CL9, Intel XMP Ready

Remeber, the motherboard light is on, and even charged my phone and everything from the usb on the back. No fans work,