Sign in with
Your question

Ping shoots up when CPU under load. Random hard crashes

Last response: in Systems
September 30, 2012 6:33:14 PM

Hey,

I just built a new PC a few months ago, and I've kind of been having this problem. It used to go away after a reboot, and be very rare, but now it's 100% repeatable. When I run something that stresses the CPU my ping to my router skyrockets. It becomes so jittery with pings from <1ms to 1000ms and sometimes host not reachable or general fault. The pings drop back down to <1ms when I turn off prime95. The affects me very much in online games, and if kept up long enough it eventually crashes the computer requiring a hard reset. Very rarely I get a BSOD, which usually complains about a hardware fault. I have some experience with this stuff before, but this is a bit of a stumper.

Things I have already tried:

Swapped the ram

Swapped the graphics card

Swapped the Wireless card (pci-e and USB)

Rebooted the router

Unplugged peripherals

Reseated everything

Disabled overclock/overvolting

All temperatures at 70C or below

Specs:

Intel i7 3770k

Asus Sabertooth z77

Mushkin Enhanced Redline Frostbyte 16GB 4X4GB PC3-17000 DDR3-2133 9-11-10-28

Corsair TX750w v2

ATI HD5770 1GB

Everything is still in warranty besides the graphics card, but I swapped it with my 8800gt which I knew worked and still had the same issues.

With a bit of google-fu I think I may have narrowed it down to either the PSU or Motherboard, but I would like to hear some suggestions. Also I'm from Canada so RMA'ing costs me >$20 in shipping and a week+ without my desktop so narrowing down what part I need would be great help to me. Thanks!
a b B Homebuilt system
September 30, 2012 8:11:16 PM

You internet ping has absolutely nothing to do with your cpu or load.

Are you runing the ram at 2133mhz 9-11-10-28?

That's not really supported by Intel. Try Intel XMP profile or try them at 1600mhz 9-9-9-24.