Sign in with
Your question

Why doesn't my graphics card work!?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 10, 2012 5:25:39 PM

Hello, I recently built a rig and downloaded all of the updates and what not but when I plug my screens into my Radeon HD 6950 graphics card, it doesn't show up on the screen. I think my computer just doesn't recognize the card but I don't know what to do. Help!

More about : graphics card work

a c 144 U Graphics card
August 10, 2012 5:29:19 PM

whole system spec?
m
l
August 10, 2012 5:34:17 PM

Intel Core I7 2700k
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo
Radeon HD 6950 2gb
16GB Corsair Vengance lp DDR 3
Samsung 830 SSD
Corsair HX850 psu
m
l
Related resources
August 10, 2012 5:34:29 PM

Also I'm a mega noob and may need to be asked for more than I give -_-
m
l
August 10, 2012 5:57:50 PM

renz496 said:
whole system spec?

Intel Core I7 2700k
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo
Radeon HD 6950 2gb
16GB Corsair Vengance lp DDR 3
Samsung 830 SSD
Corsair HX850 psu
m
l
a c 191 U Graphics card
August 10, 2012 6:04:27 PM

Does it work when you plug the monitor into the graphics port on the motherboard? You might have to go in and disable the onboard graphics for the card to work.
m
l
August 10, 2012 6:05:27 PM

Deemo13 said:
Does it work when you plug the monitor into the graphics port on the motherboard? You might have to go in and disable the onboard graphics for the card to work.

It does work when I plug straight into the Mobo but I have NO idea how to disable the onboard card.
m
l
a c 191 U Graphics card
August 10, 2012 6:11:46 PM

Plug the monitor into the motherboard and boot your computer. Then when something comes up, like the ASUS logo, hit "delete" or whatever it says to hit when it comes up. This should take you into the BIOS.

Now in the BIOS, you can do alot of things, like overclock your 2700K (which I hope you did not just buy for gaming) and you can also do some other stuff you will probably learn later.