Sign in with
Your question
Solved

600 - 800 budget gaming pc

Last response: in Systems
October 1, 2012 3:24:39 PM

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading (moving this to the top because it seems pertinent to the rest that follows):

Hey everyone, about 4 years ago before I owed student loans, I bought a pre-built gaming PC for $1700. It's a good solid build and came with a lifetime service agreement, but now it's time for an new one as the mobo slots don't accommodate upgrades and I'm having trouble running any game since 2011 on even mid-range settings. I could really use some advice as this is my first time building my own.

Approximate Purchase Date: This week, or wait for BF if it would be worth it (your thoughts?)

Budget Range: 600-800 total (obviously I want the most bang for my buck here. Would an 800 dollar machine be worth the cost in performance increase?)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, streaming netflix

Are you buying a monitor: No, I have dual 22" monitors

Parts to Upgrade: (e.g.: CPU, mobo, RAM): All except peripherals (mouse, keyboard); I'm trading out my old PC for $500, which is included in the budget.

Do you need to buy OS: No; Win7x64 Home

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Tigerdirect, Amazon (prime), though open to suggestions

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: I would prefer an Intel build as I've heard AMD processors have been failing in the market recently, and I've had only Intel builds in the past.

Overclocking: Maybe...I've never overclocked anything because i'm afraid of the damage it could do. I've had a few friends overclock their CPU's and they damaged them. Is it really worth the risk? How do I prevent damage?

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, I've never ran more than one card at once, but if it fits in the budget, and would be worth the performance, I'd like to give it a shot.

Your Monitor Resolution: 1650x1080, 1920 x 1080 (yes, two different sizes, but beggars can't always be choosers!)