majestic1805

Honorable
Oct 1, 2012
I'm planning on ordering the below at the end of the month and am doing what I can between now and then to tweak the parts for my price range ($1,500 tops, below comes to about $1,300). I've built my own machine before but options have definitely widened over the last several years so I just want some input maybe on something that's better for cheaper, hidden gotchas etc. Thanks in advance.

Le build:

Rosewill Challenger ATX Mid Tower

WD Blue 1 TB SATA III
Samsung 830 128 GB SSD

Intel i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5 GHz

G.Skill Ripjaw X 16 GB Pack (2x8 GB)

XFX Double D Radeon 7950 3 GB 384-bit

XFX Core Edition PRO650W

HP Black 21.5" Monitor with Display Port

ASRock Z77 Pro3

Lite-On Blu-Ray Drive

Rosewill RNX-N300X Wireless Adapter

Logitech Mouse/Keyboard Combo Being a programmer I don't invest highly in a keyboard I smash the crap out of over just a few months. :)

I'm focused mostly on longevity of the build. I have no problems upgrading but sort of pride myself on "do it once, do it right" with the whole balancing act of doing it within a budget.

Edit after aznshinobi suggestions.

You honestly could do much better. Per your budget too. The SSD isn't to say that it is bad, but the Samsung 830 series is better. Raidmax, I haven't heard too many good things about them. I give them the benefit of the doubt but perhaps check out others?

Anyways...

Check out my $1000 build here:
http://www.squidoo.com/electronicandmore#module147312351
You'll be getting a better GPU (much better), a better SSD, more reliable and modular PSU, as well as a motherboard that will actually allow you to overclock and Crossfire 8x/8x in the future.

If you really want the 16GB I'd opt for 2x8GB instead of 4x4GB. That way you have room in the future for more ram, even though 16GB is already overkill especially for programming IMO. I did programming and the school used 8GB and ran just fine.