Building a gaming rig for $500

fliphusker

Honorable
Oct 2, 2012
I am new at this and getting my feet wet as not only does my laptop give me crappy fps but it is also on its last legs. I am wanting to build a gaming rig that is definitely not high end, unless it is for around $500. I only play world of tanks right now, which is very graphic intensive. And wanting something that will handle at least 40-80 fps in my budget.
Am I on track with this build for medium graphics at least?
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/j793

Am I going too cheap on something? Just looking for a starting point with my budget. Thanks in advance.

For your price point, and that game (which I believe scales with cores), I would highly rec commend going with a 6-core phenom black. AMD isn't making an amazing showing in the market recently, but that chip is one of the best budget CPUs out there.

For the RAM. If you aren't going AMD, get cheaper ram that runs at 1600. AMD chips scale with ram speeds, intel doesn't nearly as much.

Take the money you saved with that, and buy an SSD - I would recommend a 90GB one. (Make sure it's sata 6GB/s)

The biggest worry about that rig, for me, is the case. It's got not particularly good airflow, and, here's the biggest thing. _Never buy a case with a PSU in it unless you scrap the PSU._ You're getting a PoS with it - non brand name, badly built... the sort of thing that could easily brick your entire computer when it decides to die.

Buy a case and a seperate PSU of a reliable brand.

fliphusker

Honorable
Oct 2, 2012
Can others comment on Youngsters b build please?
I appreciate the comments. world of tanks just started supporting dual/multi core, i believe with their new graphics engine.
Any idea on if waiting till black Friday or Cyber Monday would make any kind of difference?

Thanks, its all very appreciated

jaudain

Honorable
Jun 10, 2012