First time SBS

discgolfguy

Honorable
Feb 14, 2013
Hi,

I am in the process of setting up my first server for the company that I am currently employed at. I have a good knowledge of computers in general, and I am an electrical engineer. Unfortunately, I do not have an intimate knowledge of Windows Server OS or much professional IT experience. I have many peer-to-peer networks that I have set up at home and/or for family and friends and I was wondering how hard of a time I will have stepping up to a client-server network.

My plan was to use the following hardware to set up a VM of Windows 2008 Standard R2. The main goals of this server is to handle data storage/distribution and back ups. We have no plans to use the server as a website host, nor do we desire to host our own email at the current time. I would like to have these options available in the future though.

My current plan is to purchase the following hardware:
HP ProLiant ML110 G7 Server System Intel Xeon E3-1240 3.3GHz 4C/8T 8GB (2 x 4GB) No Hard Drive 656766-S01
Transcend SSD 720 2.5" 256GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) with Desktop Upgrade Kit x2
Western Digital WD Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive x2
HP 462862-B21 PCI-Express x8 Low Profile SAS Smart Array P410/256 2-ports Controller
APC Smart-UPS SC620 620V 390 Watts 4 Outlets UPS
Hard drive caddies x4

I plan on buying Windows 2008 Server Standard R2 with 10 additional CALs.