I5-3350p gaming build? Help needed!

funyunwolf

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012
Hey guys I'm trying to throw together a quick and simple build for a friend of mine, I'm looking to buy him an i5 and from what I can tell the i5-3350p seems to be sufficient for his needs. The most this build will have to do is run games like WoW, Sims 3, and games to that like on high settings. (Which the GPU I have for him should do just fine, just worried about the processor choice.)

The budget I'm trying to work with is $400, here is what I've thrown together so far, I am new to this whole computer building stuff but from what I've picked I would assume it all fits together proper. But suggestions and or help is tremendously appreciated!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116782 ($189: The i5-3350p processor) It seems to be solid enough for what the above specified was, if anyone has experience with this processor your feedback would be awesome!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157315 ($44: ASRock H61 motherboard) I'm pretty sure this motherboard will be sufficent, from what I gather it's compatible with the CPU and the HD 5770 card that will be used in this rig.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231314 ($39: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3) It's on sale at the moment and probably something similar will be at later this month if anything. It's 240-pin and the above motherboard is compatabile with it from what I read, not to mention my friend is adamant about 8 gigs of RAM, which is understandable.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204 ($19: ASUS 24X DVD Burner) Simple optical drive.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136769 ($69: Western Digital 500g hard drive)

The other two components are from my old build: A 450w power supply and a Radeon HD 5770 the case is yet to be decided.