Sign in with
Your question

New Forensic computer - need assistance

Last response: in Systems
October 3, 2012 2:11:41 PM

I have put together a new system for forensic work only biggest issue is processing data. I am testing the PC and no matter how much data I put through it the processor and memory never go above 20% CPU and around 8 to 12 gigs of RAM. I am no PC expert so I was hoping someone here is and can explain why my software never uses all of the resources that is available to it.
the system consists of the following:

Motherboard: Intel DH67CL
Intel Processor Number: i7-2600
# of Cores: 4
# of Threads: 8
Clock Speed: 3.4 GHz
Max Turbo Frequency: 3.8 GHz
IntelĀ® Smart Cache: 8 MB
Bus/Core Ratio: 34
24 gigs of RAM
western digital caviar Blue drives

thanks

James
October 3, 2012 2:16:36 PM

Im no expert but i beleive that the software cant use anymore system resources. Basically you have lots of horsepower and that software has asked for as much as it can take if that helps. Take my advice with a grain of salt though im new to computers aswell
m
l
October 3, 2012 2:22:15 PM

what software is it? maybe it not multi-thread.
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
October 3, 2012 2:25:12 PM

First off you need to understand that not all software can use the extra cores/threads of modern systems.

That software seems to be unable to use more then 2 cores. On the plus size, you get to take full advatnage of turbo, on the negative side, HT seems to have no effect on your software meaning a 2500 could have done just as well.

If you have a 2600K(maybe you missed the K?), you can overclock it to gain more speed, but the 20% will most likely stay at 20% either way because it can not talk to more then 2 cores at once.

This same issue effects Games and other software and it is not a defect of any kind. Those extra cores and threads are free to do other things.