johnblack32

Honorable
Apr 28, 2012
For a while my graphics card has been overheating.I cleaned the inside of my desktop from dust and the fans are working properly. Everything is running at an alright temp but somehow my graphics card is staying at 90 degrees celcius idle! Could you please help me and if it helps my desktop is fairly old,made in early 2007 i think.It's wierd sometimes i look up on can you run it for certain games and it says i have the recommended requirements and then when i play it,it lags like hell.Please help!

johnblack32

Honorable
Apr 28, 2012
Thanks for the reply :) I'll check if my fans working tomorrow (Got stuff to do :p) My gpu is the nvidia geforce 8400gs i know its pretty ancient but its all i got for now. I'm a noob when it comes to computers, is the gpu fan on the graphics card or what? haha i have no clue :)

mohit9206

Distinguished
ya the fan on your graphics card..also maybe the games are lagging due to that that 8400gs is a crappy card which is not meant for gaming..and the heat issue maybe because your case ventilation is not adequte.you must upgrade your graphics

Gate9er

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2012

Well sometimes you cannot run a game smoothly even though you may have the minimum system requirements needed for the game to run. This is because in theory everything is fine and good to go but in practise it is totally different. Keep in mind that as your computer's hardware get older and more frustrated, you pc will not give you its maximum performance that used to. Especially when a computer is quite old, you will see a lack in performance as hardware have to work with all the tear and wear that has been created through the years. Furthermore a computer's performance might be affected by a virus, or even a trojan etc.

Hope this helps!

johnblack32

Honorable
Apr 28, 2012