Sign in with
Your question

Budget gaming system, need advice.

Last response: in Systems
October 4, 2012 3:33:01 PM

Hi folks,
There are many questions within, so help with any of them would be awesome. :D 

Thought it might be worth getting some advice on this before I go ahead and buy it, since i'm a pretty much a complete novice at this stuff.

I'm looking at building a relatively low budget pc, which will be used for gaming (with quite a bit of fraps), and video editing/encoding. I'm planning on overclocking moderately, nothing that would warrant the use of a better cooler than the one I've listed, as I've heard people say so far.

I've put together a list of what seem to be well recommended and reasonably priced parts, but if anyone else has an alternative they think I should look at before pulling the trigger on these parts, I would appreciate your input.

Mobo: AsRock Extreme4 (£109.99) - Heard good things about it, and seen many recommendations, but it is more pricey than the Asus P8Z77-V LX I was looking at originally (which is currently £86.99), but I do think the features outweigh the additional cost.

CPU: i5 3570k (£159.95) - my justification for this over the 2500k is that it is a few quid cheaper, and I don't plan on overclocking too heavily, so the heat issues I've heard about shouldn't be too much of a problem. Hopefully.

Heatsink/fan: Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO - Again, seen a lot of good things being said about this cooler, but I've heard it can be difficult to mount on some mobo/case combinations. Anyone have experience with this?

GPU: Ati Sapphire 7870 (£184.90) - I was looking at a 560ti, but the prices seem to have risen recently, and it seems the 7870 runs cooler. Also, this seems to be really good performance for the money. I may choose to Xfire in the future, not sure yet, so i'd like to go with components that support Xfire and SLI just in case. I use a dual monitor setup, but for games I just use the one, at 1920 x 1080.