Sign in with
Your question

Really Low budget recomendations

Last response: in Systems
October 4, 2012 4:52:12 PM

Yesterday, while working on an electronic prototype I blew my motherboard when I injected 240V AC on the serial port >_<
I'm an starving university student so I need my desktop machine up and running as fast as posible.

I was perfectly happy with my 3 years old E8500 CPU + G45 MB but I was going to upgrade at the end of the year and change to win8 before win xp support is removed. I mostly use linux so linux driver support is a majior requirement.

Prices on my local market add %30 to the prices listed on newegg (without rebates or promotions)

Approximate Purchase Date: Today / tomorrow

Budget Range: 200-250

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Compiling, General computing and not too CPU intensive engineering software. I like to watch some movies from time to time and rarelly pla games (don't need maximin setings on games really)

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: CPU, mobo, ram, HDD

Do you need to buy OS: No (have an win8 license)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Local marquet. Prices on my country add %30 to the prices listed on newegg (without rebates or promotions)

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Since I'm buying a new mobo I'll definatelly have to buy new CPU and HDD (old one is ATA)

I would not like to buy GPU since I dont really play much and would like to keep power consumption low (this desktop can run 24h/day for a few days when needed). I've been thinking about an G620 CPU and P8H61-m LX, because I like the Serial port but it is not a strong requirement (actually, having to use a serial to usb converter would help prevent future mobo blow ups xD). USB3 and DVI would be nice.