Mixed GFX Cards, 2 Monitors

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
I am going to gather up some used parts I have laying around and build a budget machine for someone. I have a LGA 1155 motherboard with X16 & X4 PCIe slots, an HD 6850, and an older Nvidia 8800 GTS that I would like to use up. My thought was to put the AMD card in the X16 slot for a DVI to the main monitor, and put the Nvidia card in the X4 slot for a DVI connection to a small utility monitor.

Does anyong see any pitfalls with installing the two cards and their respective drivers to the separate monitors?

This will be in a Win7 installation. Will Win7 recognoze that it has 2 monitors to address with dis-simlilar cards? I've never done this kind of 'card mix' before, so I thought I'd ask for opinions before I start.

Maxx_Power

Distinguished
It should work great. Make sure there is plenty of air flow directed at the 2 GPUs since there won't be a lot of room to breathe, unless your board has the right spacing with 2 or more slots between the 16x and the 4x. But functionally, this will work absolutely fine.

ncasolo

Honorable
Aug 7, 2012

My question would be why install the 8800GTS at all? The 6850 will run 3 screens no problem so 2 should be a piece of cake. The 8800GTS is just going to be more power consumption.

If you're building it with spare parts my question would be does the power supply handle both cards, but then it still goes back to my original question of why?

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
@blazorthon and maxx_power
Thanks guys, for the input. I was concerned that I would have to either enable one card or the other. That I couldn't have both cards active at the same time. Good to hear.

@ncasolo