Sign in with
Your question

Need some advice for a system build. Any suggestions welcome!

Last response: in Systems
October 5, 2012 3:12:34 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: In one week

Budget Range: £1500-£2000 in total, without rebates. Ideally delivery would be free.

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
Full-time HD editing suite. I'm a recent graduate and will be using both HD video and digital modelling software. Avid, Adobe, Maya and Edius to name a few.
I have been using triple monitors for all my editing work and wish to keep it that way, with a 4th as reference on a TV to watch final renders. I already have a 1080p TV.
Triple monitor gaming would be a plus (or very much desired) as all editing screens are 23" at 1080p. (Single card setups only)
Lots (4-6GB) of fast, very reliable storage space is also required. Green "eco" drives are a no-go. I constantly work on various projects at once and must store final renders for months on end. I'd prefer if all storage was internal.
Unsure of the benefits I'd get between Z77 and X79.

Are you buying a monitor: Yes (three of them)

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: scan.co.uk

Parts Preferences: Based on recommendations: Intel CPU, Asus motherboard, EVGA graphics, Western Digital/Hitachi Hard Drives, Corsair Power Supply. IPS Displays only.

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 (x3) In gaming: 5760 x 1080

Additional Comments: I'm aiming to have an almost silent, incredibly powerful pc. Not too sure of the power requirements and I'm undecided as to whether a GTX 680 or an AMD 7970 would be better. CUDA would benefit video work but have always used AMD cards in the past (not eyefinity) and can't gauge driver support or Nvidia Surround.

Thanks! :D 
October 5, 2012 3:38:07 PM

Going with the X79 Platform and a Core i7 39630K will require more budget.