Building a new rig

andegramisu

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013
First off I'd like to say this is my favorite website to find feedback and reviews on parts when building a rig.
I created an account and this is my first posting because I'm just not finding the specific answers I need.

Before I begin, let me say please please please do not suggest intel...lol. I see so many posts of people asking AMD questions and responders saying "get the i5 or i7, blah blah blah" NO! lol I've been building AMD gaming rigs for 17 years + and I'm not going to switch over now.

Ok...so here's the rig I'm speccing out so far. Keep in mind, I'm building this system to hopefully last the next 3-5 years without needing a major upgrade (possibly CPU or ram but nothing more)

Acer S271hl 27" LCD
Thermaltake VN700M1W2N
Asus Sabertooth 990fx (picked this for upgradability)
Phenom II X6 1075t (would go for 1100t but it's not in budget)
Antec HCG 620W (I've read a ton of posts saying 500w is sufficient so I dropped my first pick of an 850w to go with the 620w)
Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7850 2gb (OC edition)
Corsair Vengeance 1600 8gb (2x4gb DC 1.6v CL9) (chose this over the Kingston HyperX 1866 CL11 due to the lower latency)
Crucial M4 128gb SATA3 SSD for Main drive
WD Caviar Green 500gb for secondary drive
LG UH12N529 (Blu ray player / DVD R/RW combo)

Ok....so here comes the questions:

I read that the Caviar green is useless, but it has the 64mb cache while the Caviar Blue is only 16mb. Comments?
I can't settle on Air or Liquid cooling. I was originally looking at the Thermaltake bigwater 760 plus, but I've read a lot of bad reviews saying the refill indicator light on the front panel module malfunctions and that would make this useless for me. The other liquid option would be a Corsair Hydro H100 (or another of the Corsair series). My main problem with that is it's claim of "maintenance free" How can it be maintenance free???? Wouldn't the liquid dissipate over time even being enclosed??