STNICK_85

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012
So this is what I am ordering. Most of the parts are already on their way. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/jqcS

However, I am pretty new to this stuff. I have read alot about the part and need some help. Example. I read that the vengeance Ram does not always run at 1600 but more around 1300 but just needs to be set in the bios. How do I do that?

Some PSUs need to be upside down. Is mine like that?

Just things like that. I am sure I will be updating this as my parts come in. Only the tower and CPU have arrived. Mobo ram and storage wed of next week.

Any hints and tricks would be awesome. I am new to this site and already surprised how many people just like to help. Most forums people are snappy and trying to one up everyone.

Thanks.

Solution

This isn't entirely true. Certain power supplies have multiple screw threads that allow both fan-up, and fan-down mounting. I can do this with my Corsair Pro HX850. It depends on the specific power supply that you purchase.
you messed up some parts

-there is cheaper ram than the vengeance
-scorpio hard drives were meant to be in laptops
-evga is overrated. a asus 7870 is a much better option
- you need a hyper 212 to overclock the CPU

everything should be good from the get go. the ram should be easily detected at 1600mhz since this is a ivy bridge build

STNICK_85

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012

Other than the mother board and CPU the parts can be stopped. also this is the hard drive I actually got. I forgot to update the PC picker.
Western Digital WD Blue WD2500AAKX 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Also the reviews for the vengeance said it was great for gaming. What else do you recommend?
And you are like the 5th person to say to the the 7870! I may make that change. I will see how much it cost.

Wolfshadw

Titan
I won't say you "messed up" some parts, but I do agree with some of what TheBigTroll states.

1) Yes, there is cheaper RAM.