eastsider3

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2002
i am very new to computers.
i just purchased an athlon system not too long ago and ive installed windows 98 on it cos it's the only thing i had lying around and can't afford a new os.
newayz ive had some problems with it, mainly the hd! but now ive got something bad and i dunno what to do or whats the problem.
hardware or software? has something blown up or something playing up?
heres the prooblem i get when i boot up.....
it says their is a curoupt file or its missing, called windows/himem.sys and than it also says that it can't find file win.com....initially it went to the screen where you get to choose safe mode or command promt only etc... but than i tried to fix it by follwing the instructions in bios that i got an option to follow and it all went well till it came to a stage where it couldn't find win.com...initially all it was saying was...coroupt or lost himem.sys run scanreg.... which i did with no help. but now it doesn't even allow me to do anything just straight away says missing himeme.sys and win.com and no options to do anything.
so is there something wrong with my windows or has some hardware like cpu or hd gone???
if it's os thats stuffed and i install it again will i loose everything on my hd???? plzzzzz tell me no cos ive got so much important stuff on there ;( plzzz help me, as you can tell i need it bad and it would be much appreciated
thank you :(

ps. the only thing i touched related to software was msconfig to get rid of programs starting up on start up... and as you know after that you have to restart and i did and everything was cool so i don't think it was that though. although that was 1 booot prior to the boot where it gave me the error.
only thing related to hardware was i opened up the case, and touch the fan to see how hot it felt...so i dunno.

jihiggs

Splendid
Oct 11, 2001