Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Does AMD A6 3620 Bottleneck a GIGABYTE 6970 2GB

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
February 19, 2013 11:33:38 AM

Hello,
Well I got this PC relatively cheap and its a blast but I was wondering is the A6 holding the 6970 back. Ive read up a little about it but im still no pro when it comes to cpus just yet. So first off is this cpu killing my gpu performance and if so im able to overclock this thing up to 4.5GHZ using AMD overdrive does this help or is it a lost cause?
a b à CPUs
February 19, 2013 11:51:13 AM

I would say yes, that would be the limiting factor. The appeal of that line of CPUs is for the integrated graphics, which is worthless with a 6970.

It might be worth investing in a new motherboard and CPU if you want better performance. The FM1 socket doesn't have much wiggle room.

Overclocking might be worth a shot, but I don't think it will prove useful enough to eliminate the CPU as the bottleneck.
m
l
February 19, 2013 11:57:04 AM

Yeah i overclocked it and i did notice a small increase in FPS but not much with both the 6970 OCed to 930 on the core and 1450 on the memory and with the CPU staying steady around 4.2 it was good for about 2 to 3 frames a sec increase on average using Hitman Absolutions benchmark on ultra...now would i see a deffinite increase with a fx 8350 on the gigagbyte 990FX motherboard or nothing substantial
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !

Best solution

February 19, 2013 12:17:39 PM

Yes it will definitely bottleneck the 6970, if you want to avoid a bottleneck I would suggest an Intel I3 (Ivy bridge) or an AMD FX-6300 CPU.
February 19, 2013 12:37:35 PM

Now is this a seriouse bottleneck or eh i lose a frame here and there? Would an upgrade really make a noticable difference? Also I ask about the FX 8350 with the Gigabyte 990FX because I can get both for about 250
m
l
February 19, 2013 12:50:12 PM