Sign in with
Your question

ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 and HD598 want to know a few things

Last response: in Components
February 20, 2013 12:49:55 AM

I am new with these purchases. I have a few questions, I am just looking to educate myself so bare with me. By the way the Headphones are great no complaints I plug them in and its heaven. I have a lil 2 speaker Logitech combination that I use for my wife cause she hates headphones when she is on the computer. So I plugged the Logitech 2 speakers to the sound card and my HD598's through the jack on the Logitech 2 speakers. Im wondering if Im messing up the sound quality by plugging the headphones into the Logitech instead of plugging it directly into the sound card? If that's the case should I invest in a jack splitter 3.5mm so I can just have them both plugged in the card at once? I really don't want to have to unplug one and plug in another for the best sound every time.
February 20, 2013 1:36:02 AM

no u can plug in headphones tru speakers ive done it all the time.

yes u can invest ina splitter ive got one and cost 15$

m
l
February 20, 2013 1:43:00 AM

I forgot to ask also is it true to always disable motherboard audio when you have a sound card?
m
l
Related resources
February 20, 2013 1:45:00 AM

yes. by simply going in options and disabling onboard sound :) 
m
l
February 20, 2013 2:26:32 AM

Does the splitter equal a loss in quality?
m
l
February 20, 2013 2:44:59 AM

no. works great

m
l
February 20, 2013 10:53:38 AM

NewbiePcgamer84 said:
I forgot to ask also is it true to always disable motherboard audio when you have a sound card?

You don't HAVE to; I keep my onboard on just so I have a secondary set of output jacks. The reason its "recommended" is because Creative soundcards, for years, didn't play nice if they weren't the only soundcard installed.