Crossfire with 2x XFX Radeon HD 4890

alc0

Honorable
Oct 5, 2012
Hi!

I have 2 XFX Radeon HD 4890 (factory overclocked) cards laying around, and a ssd drive. I need a new workstation/gamingcomputer, and I want to use both of these cards.

I am completely new to crossfire and have never used two GPU's in one computer before.

What is important when I choose motherboard? Is there any other aspects I should think about? Is there any reason NOT to use both my cards?

Thanks in advance for good answers ;)

You want a motherboard with two PCI-E slots that support at least 8x bandwidth when there are two cards in.

Slot spacing, most motherboards will have double spacing, so this isn't an issue for most cards. If your PSU can handle two cards running at once, whether your case can hold two cards. If the cooling can handle almost double the heat output from two cards. On GPU's this old its not an issue, but if the CPU will bottleneck the cards performance.

Extra power draw, increased temps and noise. Possibly issues like Micro-stuttering, though many Crossfire/SLI users say they have never felt it.
Also its generally a better option to with a single stronger card over two weaker in SLI/Crossfire. But if you already have these laying around, might as well.

alc0

Honorable
Oct 5, 2012
Thank you for a very thorough answer!

A couple of follow-up questions:
How can I know/find out if the motherboard supports 8x bandwidth with both cards in?
How big PSU do you recommend? Specifications on my cards in general says 190 watts, but due to the factory overclocking it might be more?

If it turns out to be too much trouble, I'll give it up and only use one card, but I'm thinking a motherboard capable of running both cards cant be that much more expensive, so why not try it out?

AlC0

When you look in the motherboard specifications, it will say somewhere about expansion slots.
First one will always be 16x.