Building Gaming System - Need Advice

Oct 8, 2012
I'm working on building a gaming system, and I'm fairly new to the process. I've been researching for a couple days now on which parts I should get, and would like advice on my current build.

Getting the price point closer to $1000 USD would be nice. I'd like to not compromise on the monitor, and would prefer the best performance I can get at that price point.

So far this is what I have come up with for my build:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/jKaa

I'm mosty interested in playing games like World of Warcraft/League of Legends while being able to stream the gameplay live, but would also like to be able to play games like Skyrim (without streaming) on high settings. Also, I'd like the gaming mouse for the extra buttons, but is a gaming keyboard really a huge advantage over a standard keyboard?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, and please let me know if what I am asking is out of reach for my current price range. (I'm willing to go to $1500, but would like to be able to get the performance I am asking for around $1000.)

Thank you!

That build is an improvement in several ways, but I would pick a different motherboard and perhaps a better SSD. The Crucial M4 doesn't cost much more but is definitely better. The Asrock Z77 Pro3 motherboard isn't really suitable for overclocking.

Oct 8, 2012
Thank you so much guys for the input. I am interested in overclocking the motherboard so I would like to go with one that is suitable for it. After going over your responses I figured I'd be able to go with the Asrock Extrem4. Here is the build I came up with using your suggestions and changing the motherboard:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/jKEN

Also, I'm not sure what kind of storage is needed exactly, just that the solid state drives run faster and are more stable. Would it be necessary to have a regular HDD as well?

Oct 8, 2012